高中

高中介绍

HeadStart高中生有着绝佳的机会和特权,这使他们有别于学校里的其他人。我们的目的是为学生的未来生活做好准备,包括到世界各地知名大学继续深造。HeadStart高中部为学生提供了一个可以接受指导,同时也能有机会独立自主学习,为学校做贡献的大环境氛围。

在他们的学习中,我们希望激发学生的求知欲、独立性和积极性,去更深入的研究理解所学内容。学生可以选择参加剑桥国际评估考试考试A Level课程,或者Pearson BTEC课程。这些课程都是被世界认可的大学入门考试,用来鉴定学生是否适合大学的学习。

英国的大学(包括牛津和剑桥)、美国的大学(斯坦福和所有的常春藤学校)、加拿大、欧盟、中东地区、西亚地区、澳大利亚和新西兰以及一些其他国家地区的大学都是承认认可剑桥学历资质的。HeadStart高中生可以选择多达5个AS级,包括数学、文学、物理、化学、生物、计算机科学、商务、历史、地理、艺术、IT和音乐。在学业的最后一年,学生们会把选择项缩减至3-4个,来完成全部的A Level。

HeadStart一直致力于寻求扩展我们的学术项目,提供适合我们学生个人的教育机会。考虑到这一点,我们在学术项目中引进了BTEC三级国家认证证书。这些可以为学生提供学习理论和实际实践的机会,使学生具备专业知识、实践技能和理解能力,确保他们能走上特定职业道路。目前开设的课程包括商务、旅游、体育和数字媒体。

与其他许多学校不同,HeadStart让高中生自由选择学科,让学生创建最适合自己的个性化课程。你可以在这里看到更多的课程信息,了解到更多我们的学术成就。我们所有的课程都是由高水平的专家教授。

除了学业上的成就,课外活动对我们也很重要。HeadStart提供全方位的教育,培养有良好基础的少年俊才。除了学术课程之外,所有的高中生可以免费使用体育设施,拥有单独独立的学习时间。所有的高中生也参加爱丁堡公爵国际奖。此外,鼓励学生担任领导角色,比如,成为学生会成员、维持纪律的学长,或者男女生代表。高中生参加了 HeadStart丰富的课程计划,这也为他们提供了培养人格、领导才能、团体精神和自信心的机会。这里有许多机会参与或者在音乐、戏剧、体育、服务和其他活动上竞争,例如:LAMDA课程,模拟联合国和世界学者杯。

我们高中部的核心宗旨就是为学生以后的生活做好准备。这不仅需要发展学习技能和取得学术成果,而且也要获得独立性和技能,帮助他们在毕业后实现自己的夙愿。如果你身在普吉,请通过预订来参观考察我校。你将会见到我们的一些高中生,我相信你会对高中生以及我校所提供的印象深刻。

考虑来HeadStart上高中?

HeadStart非常欢迎那些想加入我们高中部,体验剑桥A Level或者Pearson BTEC课程的学生。如果在2020年8月之前完成IGCSE,那么你可以直接转到A Level或者BTEC项目课程。当然,那些没有学习IGCSE课程的学生也是可以进入我们的,其他许多学校的项目课程也为高中学习打下了良好的基础。剑桥的学历在世界上是最受欢迎认可的学历,为世界上160个国家和地区的超过10,000所学校提供服务,是国际学士学位的两倍。BTEC资格是英国大学第二大常见大学入学资格,在世界各国也越来越被认可其中也包括泰国。如果你想了解更多HeadStart学习情况,请联系招生办工作人员,他们将非常乐意为您安排访问实地考察。

Default 4dc4830b b6a9 4398 8a43 b2827ce58132Default 288e8bd1 da42 4211 baf4 9d7557deca7bDefault e5e0accd cdfa 4fe4 8b7b 7bd7189fa5b3Default c1e478c2 232a 4edc 9f6f b9e14670fd34Default 4fc2d169 731f 4e38 882b 7e5c0ac7b8e0Default 95a1e377 f695 43ae 9a9c 9b54158dfc6eDefault f064f010 782f 45c2 8c22 61b4bb0cdf5bDefault 8b63266f 1d5e 4479 8635 9fd4e3dcdf2fDefault cda37e10 5767 4c87 9748 95d7b2bedbe9

Sixth Form

Square 8ad0d0c2 2390 4a72 b87c 9d5575df096e

Gemma Caines

Head of Sixth Form
[email protected]

My name is Gemma and I work with the older students at HeadStart, helping them prepare for their university applications and get ready for A Levels and BTEC courses. I grew up by the seaside in the North West of England, so I enjoy Phuket life and always being close to the sea. I studied History at Cambridge University, before gaining my Masters from Sussex University. I’ve been teaching since 1997, which makes me feel very old, but working with Sixth Formers keeps me young and (I like to think) up to date with current trends! I’ve worked in a variety of countries in Asia - Sri Lanka, China, Nepal and now here in Thailand. I understand that selecting and going to university, especially in unfamiliar countries, is both exciting and nerve-wracking. I’m there to try and make the transition as smooth as possible. My door is always open, for students of all ages and their families, and I do invite whoever needs to come and talk to me. I also work with a fantastic team on Child Protection and Safeguarding here at school. I believe that children and young people can only thrive academically when they feel personally safe and happy. I’m hopeful we can help create a supportive environment that allows all children to succeed. whatever their goals and ambitions.

Students in the Sixth Form at HeadStart have fantastic opportunities and privileges that set them apart from the rest of the school. Our aim is to prepare students for their future life, including further study in universities around the world. The Sixth Form at HeadStart provides an environment where students receive direction, whilst being given opportunities for independence both through their studies and in their contributions to the school.

In their academics, we want to inspire our students to be curious, independent and motivated to gain a deep understanding of the subjects they choose. Students can choose to follow Cambridge Assessment International Examinations A Level courses or Pearson BTEC courses. These courses are recognised worldwide as college entry courses used to identify students suitable for university study.

Cambridge qualifications are recognised for admission by UK universities (including Oxford and Cambridge) as well as universities in the United States (Stanford and all Ivy League universities), Canada, European Union, Middle East, West Asia, Australia and New Zealand, as well as in other countries. HeadStart Sixth Formers can choose up to 5 AS levels including mathematics, literature, physics, chemistry, biology, computer science, business, history, geography, art, IT and music. In the final year of school students narrow their choices down to 3 or 4 subjects to complete the full A level.

HeadStart is always seeking to expand our academic programme and provide educational opportunities that suit our students as individuals. With this in mind, we have introduced Level 3 BTEC National qualifications to our academic programme. These offer students the opportunity to learn theory alongside real-life experience in courses that equip students with specialist knowledge, practical skills, and understanding to enable them to pursue a particular career path. Current courses on offer include business, travel & tourism, sport and digital media.

Unlike many other schools, HeadStart gives its Sixth Formers free choice of subjects, allowing students to create a personalised academic programme that best suits them. You can find out more about our courses here and read about our academic successes here. At all levels, all of our subjects and courses are taught by highly qualified subject specialists.

As well as academic success, what happens outside the classroom is of great importance to us. HeadStart provides a holistic education to produce well rounded young adults. In addition to their academic lessons, all Sixth Formers have free access to our sporting facilities and independent study time. All students in the Sixth Form also participate in the Duke of Edinburgh International Award. In addition, students are encouraged to take on leadership roles including being a student council member, being a Prefect or leading the school as Head Boy / Girl. Sixth Formers participate in HeadStart’s extensive enrichment programme and this provides an opportunity to develop personalities, leadership skills, community spirit, and self-confidence. There are abundant opportunities to participate or compete in music, drama, sport, service and other activities such as LAMDA courses, Model United Nations and World Scholars’ Cup.

Our key aim in the Sixth Form is to ready our students for life beyond school. This not only requires developing study skills and achieving academic results but also gaining independence and skills that will help them reach their aspirations beyond HeadStart. If you are in Phuket, please come and visit us by booking a tour. You will be able to meet some of our Sixth Formers and I’m sure you will be impressed with them and what we have to offer.

Thinking about joining HeadStart for Sixth Form Study?

HeadStart welcomes students who wish to join us for the Sixth Form and experience the Cambridge A level or Pearson BTEC curriculum. If you will have completed your IGCSEs by August 2020, then transferring to the A level or BTEC programme is straight forward. However, students do not need to have studied IGCSE to be able to join us and many other school programmes provide a solid foundation for Sixth Form study. Cambridge qualifications are the single most popular international qualification in the world, serving more than 10,000 schools in 160 countries, double that of the International Baccalaureate. BTEC qualifications are the second most common entry qualifications for universities in the UK and are increasingly recognised in countries worldwide, including Thailand. If you’d like to find out more about studying life at HeadStart, please do contact admissions who will be delighted to arrange a visit.

Default 4dc4830b b6a9 4398 8a43 b2827ce58132Default 41ab60f4 e984 4545 901a 84bb959c87a6Default e5e0accd cdfa 4fe4 8b7b 7bd7189fa5b3Default c1e478c2 232a 4edc 9f6f b9e14670fd34Default 4fc2d169 731f 4e38 882b 7e5c0ac7b8e0Default 95a1e377 f695 43ae 9a9c 9b54158dfc6eDefault f064f010 782f 45c2 8c22 61b4bb0cdf5bDefault 7e78c1fb 20cf 48b6 972e cdfa61abe4faDefault cda37e10 5767 4c87 9748 95d7b2bedbe9